Roz Raskin and The Rice Cakes the sound of Rhode Island

IMG_1618 So I have been trying to write the same post since like Friday but I was so hung over that I’m only getting to it now. On Thursday night I went to The Blackstone in Pawtucket to see in my opinion one of the best bands in Rhode island Roz Raskin and the Rice Cakes. My plan was to go watch the show check out some of the opening bands, since I have been thinking about expanding the topics I write about to include local music that I think kicks ass. Instead I ended up being swayed by the temptations of booze and the devils lettuce, and missed pretty much all of the opening bands  (Sorry, I heard The Wandas were good though) but moving on like I said earlier Roz Raskin and the Rice Cakes are one of the most original bands I’ve heard in Rhode island.  The best way i could describe their sound would be to say it sounds like walking down Thayer street you hear all these different sounds coming from the different shops each ones playing their own songs together they make up this  weird melody. I feel like they do a great job of representing Rhode Island. IMG_1620So I  thought they would be good place to start my reporting of local music. Also The RiceCakes just recently released their first album, The Friend Ship, Which was recorded and produced by Moose Proof  records which is also based in Rhode Island. Im pretty sure the only way of gettting a copy of their album is from the band themselves at one of their shows or contacting them on there myspace. Their next show in the state is at the Wheelhouse with Formal Action another one of Rhode Island’s kick ass bands. The shows on October 30th and its a Halloween party  so wear your costumes boys and girls.

Here are a few links so you can become friends with them!!

Myspace

Facebook

 

One Response

  1. […] coast other then New Jersey itself. So there I was  to see two of my favorite local bands. Roz Raskins and the RiceCakes and Formal Action. I’ve written about Roz Raskins and the RiceCakes before probably like a month […]

Leave a Reply

